2021 Bata explosions

From Simple English Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
2021 Bata explosions
Date7 March 2021
Time
  • First explosion:
    Around 15:00 WAT (14:00 UTC)
  • Last significant explosion:
    Around 17:00 WAT (16:00 UTC)
LocationNkoantoma Military Base, Bata, Equatorial Guinea
Coordinates1°49′12″N 9°48′32″E / 1.820°N 9.809°E / 1.820; 9.809Coordinates: 1°49′12″N 9°48′32″E / 1.820°N 9.809°E / 1.820; 9.809
CauseNegligently stored dynamite and other explosives (suspected)
Deaths108
Non-fatal injuries615+

During the afternoon of 7 March 2021 a series of four explosions happened at a barracks in the Nkoantoma district of Bata, the largest city and commercial capital of Equatorial Guinea in Central Africa. At least 108 people died and more than 615 others were wounded.[1][2]

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo said the explosion happened because of stored explosives on the base.

References[change | change source]

  1. "Bata blast: Satellite images show Equatorial Guinea destruction". BBC. 10 March 2020. Retrieved 8 March 2020.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: others (link)
  2. "Death toll from devastating Equatorial Guinea blasts jumps to 98". Al Jazeera. 8 March 2020. Retrieved 8 March 2020.{{cite web}}: CS1 maint: others (link)