Discovery Family

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
(Redirected from The Hub (TV channel))
Jump to: navigation, search
Discovery Family
Launched October 7, 1996
Owned by Discovery Communications (60%)
Hasbro, Inc.
(40%)
Slogan Where Everything Comes Together
Headquarters Silver Spring, Maryland
Formerly called
  • Discovery Kids (1996-2010)
  • The Hub (2010-2013)
  • Hub Network (2013-2014)
Sister channel(s) Discovery Channel
TLC
Animal Planet
OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network
Science Channel
Military Channel
Discovery Fit & Health
Investigation Discovery
Planet Green
Availability
Satellite
DirecTV (US) Channel 294
Channel 1294 (VOD)
Dish Network Channel 179
C-Band AMC 11-Channel 610 (4DTV Digital)
SKY México Channel 271
DirecTV (Latin America) Channel 330
Cable
Available on most cable systems Check local listings for details
IPTV
AT&T U-Verse Channel 335 (SD)
Channel 1335 (HD)
Verizon FiOS Channel 259 (SD)
Channel 789 (HD)
Sky Angel Channel 314

Discovery Family (formerly Discovery Kids, The Hub, and the Hub Network) is a Digital cable and satellite television television network in the United States. Discovery Family replaced the Hub Network, the Hub, and Discovery Kids and has a joint venture of both Discovery Communications, Inc. and Hasbro.[1] The headquarters for the television channel is in Silver Spring, Maryland. The Hub (later became the Hub Network) launched at 10:00 am ET (9:00 am CT) on October 10, 2010 and took over the Discovery Kids channel space after a final marathon of Kenny the Shark. The very first program aired on The Hub was The Twisted Whiskers Show. The channel is 40% owned by Hasbro and 60% owned by Discovery Communications, Inc.[2]

Program blocks[change | change source]

There are 4 blocks for the channel:

HubBub[change | change source]

HubBub is a daytime programming block for preschoolers. HubBub usually airs from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm ET (8:00 am–12:00 pm CT). Shows like Animal Mechanicals, Maryoku Yummy, In the Night Garden, Strawberry Shortcake's Berry Bitty Adventures and The WotWots are aired during HubBub.

Family Prime Time[change | change source]

Family Prime Time is a nighttime lineup and is broadcast on Monday to Thursdays from 7:00 pm to 6:00 am ET (6:00 pm to 5:00 am CT), Fridays from 2:00 to 4:00 am ET (1:00 to 3:00 am CT), Saturdays from 1:00 to 4:00 am ET (12:00 to 3:00 am CT) and Sundays from 12:00 to 4:00 am ET (11:00 pm to 3:00 am CT). Shows like Honey, I Shrunk the Kids: The TV Show, Doogie Howser, M.D., Laverne & Shirley, The Wonder Years and Happy Days are aired during Family Prime Time.

HubBoom[change | change source]

HubBoom which is a late night block of action-themed programming and is broadcast Monday through Thursdays from 11:30 pm to 1:00 am ET (10:30 pm to 12:00 am CT). Shows like Batman, The Transformers and G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero are aired during HubBoom.

Saturday Mash Up[change | change source]

Saturday Mash Up is an almost all-day block. Saturday Mash Up has several sub-blocks (Crack Up, Smash Up, Team Up, Family Prime, and Family Movie Night).

  • Crack Up is a sub-block that airs comedy cartoons and airs from 6:00 am Eastern/5:00 am Central to 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central.
  • Smash Up is a sub-block that airs action shows and airs from 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central to 2:00 pm Eastern/1:00 pm Central.
  • Team Up is a sub-block that airs two back-to-back episodes of Family Game Night and airs from 3:00 pm Eastern/2:00 pm Central to 5:00 pm Eastern/4:00 pm Central.
  • Family Prime is a sub-block that airs The Hub's best shows and airs from 7:00 pm Eastern/6:00 pm Central to 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central.
  • Family Movie Night is a sub-block that airs family movies and it airs from 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central to 11:00 pm Eastern/10:00 pm Central.

References[change | change source]

External links[change | change source]