Wikipedia:Deletion review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Shortcut:
WP:RFU
WP:DRV
WP:RFU

If you think a review of a deletion discussion is needed, please list it here and say why. Users can then comment to reach an agreement on whether the community thinks the discussion was closed correctly, or the decision should be overturned. Each user can say if he or she wants to endorse the closure, or overturn the closure, with a brief comment, and sign with ~~~~.

A page should stay listed here for at least 5 to 7 days. After that time, an administrator will decide if there is a consensus (agreement) about what to do, and take appropriate steps. If the consensus was that the discussion was closed correctly, the discussion should be closed with a note saying this.

Archived requests are here

Current requests[change source]

Please list newer requests at the top.

Request for Restore to User Page[change source]

The page "CoNetrix" was deleted by Orangemike on August 19, 2009 for Advertising. Can the page please be restored to a user page so that I can work on it an ensure it follows all rules for posting? (prlandru) — This unsigned comment was added by ‎ Prlandru (talk • changes) at 14:15, 20 July 2016.

I see that that page was deleted from English Wikipedia in 2008, but I don't see a record of it here on Simple English Wikipedia. If it was deleted here, then it's too late for it to be restored. If you want it restored on English Wikipedia, you would have to ask there. I'm sorry we can't help. --Auntof6 (talk) 16:25, 20 July 2016 (UTC)

The New Classics (band)[change source]

The page is a notable band that is known in Japan. 2605:6001:E484:1000:4DB5:1D5C:A470:2F3A (talk) 00:25, 28 June 2016 (UTC)

The band may be notable, but the article didn't show the notability. Articles need to show that their subjects are notable. For refetence, the article consisted of one sentence, a discography, and a list of two television appearances. The sentence was "The New Classics is a Japanese hip hop band consisting of Asu, Greg, and Kaz founded in Tokyo, Japan.". --Auntof6 (talk) 04:54, 28 June 2016 (UTC)

Mercedes-Benz O405[change source]

The subject's claim to notability is: "It was the last VöV SL-II standard bus to be made." No matter how weak/questionable this claim to notability is, the claim exists in the article text, so the article can only be brought to RfD instead. Chenzw  Talk  11:46, 20 May 2016 (UTC)

Yup, it had a claim. I restored it. As an admin Chenzw, since it wasn't deleted at Rfd you could have just restored it. -DJSasso (talk) 14:35, 20 May 2016 (UTC)
Oh nevermind I just noticed you had edited it so I guess you couldn't. -DJSasso (talk) 14:36, 20 May 2016 (UTC)

Digital Combat Simulator[change source]

deleted under G11 "obvious advertising" without being an advertisement. Deleted completely unfairly and without proper review, nobody even tried contributing, instead people just JUMPED for deletion. You can see a similar version here. If you think it's not simple enough, then undelete it and make reccomendations or fix it yourself. If you think it's not notable, go google search it: it's a thriving community and has other wikipedia pages in many languages. The one I wrote in simple was v. similar to the English one, and that one isn't being deleted. In other words, there's no reason for it to be deleted. HarryKernow (talk) 21:55, 23 April 2016 (UTC)

Additional information given in the QD request was "refs are blogs and sources close to subject (vendors)". That might have made the requestor think it was advertising. A better QD option for this would have been WP:QD#A4, the one about not showing notability. I don't see advertising here, although it would need better refs and there are too many things in the other-websites section. --Auntof6 (talk) 22:28, 23 April 2016 (UTC)
You can't possibly argue it's not notable. The subreddit has over 6.6k people subbed and grows daily, it's on steam with 2.5k reviews, the forums have hundreds of thousands of posts, and there is a lot of money in the hyper-realistic sim market. If you undelete it I can find more refs, but it was mostly referencing update logs and community announcements on the forums, not blogs, and dev sites with information on the aircraft in question. Most said also comes from officially confirmed information put out by E:D, which along with the third-party devs are really the only ones that can put out announcements like "we are making xyz plane it'll be released soonTM". Other news sources wouldn't do anything to further confirm it. But alas, I can if you really want to. HarryKernow (talk) 23:25, 23 April 2016 (UTC)
As a plus, that reads If not everyone agrees that the subject is not notable or there has been a previous RfD, the article may not be quickly deleted... and others and I certainly do think it is notable. HarryKernow (talk) 00:43, 24 April 2016 (UTC)
I agree that the original QD reason was pushing it a bit, so I have gone ahead to perform the undeletion. That being said, there are two remaining issues in this article:
  • The claim to notability is not as clear as I would like, but I am giving the benefit of the doubt here considering the nature of this genre.
  • Whether the game is even notable in the first place: from the general notability guideline, if there is "significant coverage in reliable sources that are independent of the subject, it is presumed to be suitable for a stand-alone article", with emphasis on "independent" here. I don't deny the size of the player base, but it could still not be significant enough for inclusion on Wikipedia.
Undeletion does not guarantee that the article will pull through future RfDs, so please work on the issues I brought up. Chenzw  Talk  03:14, 24 April 2016 (UTC)

War Thunder[change source]

deleted under A3 without sufficient time for me to simplify it more. It certainly wasn't a copypaste, and if you think it is don't DELETE it, FIX IT. This is very frustrating having admins delete things WITHOUT EVEN NOTIFYING ME. HarryKernow (talk) 22:00, 23 April 2016 (UTC)

I deleted this one. The text in it is almost word-for-word from the English Wikipedia article, although some parts were left out. Only a few words and phrases were simplified, and sentence structure was not simplified. It was deleted about 2.5 hours after creation, which is more than long enough to wait for it to be simplified. An article copied from elsewhere should either be simplified before or immediately after being created, or have a tag on it saying that someone is working on simplifying it. It is the creator's responsibility to do that. Our quick deletion policy allows for immediate deletion of articles that don't follow that policy. I would be happy to userfy this one if the creator wants to work on it there before putting it back in mainspace. --Auntof6 (talk) 22:42, 23 April 2016 (UTC)
Please put it under User:HarryKernow/warthunder if you can. HarryKernow (talk) 23:25, 23 April 2016 (UTC)
I have restored it to the above userpage. Chenzw  Talk  03:23, 24 April 2016 (UTC)
Thanks, Chenzw. @HarryKernow: When you're ready for the page to go to mainspace, be aware that if you move it yourself it will leave behind a cross-namespace redirect. To avoid having that, please either ask an admin to move it for you, or ask for the redirect to be deleted after the move. Thanks. --Auntof6 (talk) 05:53, 24 April 2016 (UTC)

Donalsonville, Georgia[change source]

  • I need help on editing information on Donalsonville Georgia, I screwed up info on it and need to get it back up and don't know how, need help!--— This unsigned comment was added by Jhodge34 (talk • changes).
I can not find any record of this article on the Simple English Wikipedia. Are you on the right Wikipedia?--Peterdownunder (talk) 11:54, 24 March 2016 (UTC)

Sanford and Son[change source]

no real reason for the page to be deleted. it was a popular show. Jkl2299 (talk)

The page was deleted because it had been copied from another Wikipedia and not written in Simple English. We would welcome a suitable article written to meet our guidelines. If you would like to try and convert the article, it can be copied in your sandbox, where you can work on it at your leisure. If you need help to do this, ask below.--Peterdownunder (talk) 07:53, 11 March 2016 (UTC)

Pierre Jovanovic, French Journalist writer[change source]

deleted several times by unknown people without any reason. the article of this writer was accurate and true, no illegal contents, this article was deleted from illegal intentions and sabotage --— This unsigned comment was added by Madovsky (talk • changes) at 03:01, 7 March 2016‎.

I think you are on the wrong Wikipedia. This is Simple English Wikipedia. Articles by that name have been deleted on English Wikipedia, but I don't see where they ever existed here. --Auntof6 (talk) 04:01, 7 March 2016 (UTC)