Wikipedia:Deletion review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Shortcut:
WP:RFU
WP:DRV
WP:RFU

If you think a review of a deletion discussion is needed, please list it here and say why. Users can then comment to reach an agreement on whether the community thinks the discussion was closed correctly, or the decision should be overturned. Each user can say if he or she wants to endorse the closure, or overturn the closure, with a brief comment, and sign with ~~~~.

A page should stay listed here for at least 5 to 7 days. After that time, an administrator will decide if there is a consensus (agreement) about what to do, and take appropriate steps. If the consensus was that the discussion was closed correctly, the discussion should be closed with a note saying this.

Archived requests are here

Current requests[change source]

Please list newer requests at the top.

Quick deletion of Shaykh al-Islam[change source]

Hi, I am a new user here and I respectfully do not understand why this page has been deleted. If there is something wrong I have done, I can correct it and make it right. So please, give me another chance! Thanks in advance for your help and understanding. Kind regards.--TheGoldenRatio (talk) 21:09, 4 January 2016 (UTC)

Deletion of Omer Tarin[change source]

Hello, I would please request from you all, a review of this deletion today. Im sorry that I am not expert with the wikipedia, but I would like to say that firstly, one of the basic aims of this whole site, should be always to try to achieve some sort of consensus, so that the site remains useful for people (especially students) all over the world, since its easier and understandable and a variety of articles is available about people from all parts. Secondly, 'notability' in my opinion, shouldnt depend only on availability of supposedly reliable sources online- many notable people (for example) in this part of the world, dont always have much information about them online, but there are ample reviews and similar works, including secondary scholarly works, published in reputable newspapers, journals, books, and so on, here. Thirdly, in most instances, just simply voting/polling along 'majority is authority' lines, seems sadly a bit arbitrary. This article was, or is, in my view as an educator, a useful one, and served a good and positive purpose, and the subject is beyond doubt a very well know poet and writer from Pakistan. Perhaps, the article could have been shortened or revised and edited to suit Simple Wiki standards? I think that this suggestion was made in the discussion page but wasnt given any serious attention to, and as a result the article was just deleted outright. Surely, we can all work towards a common and positive goal, rather than just imposing our own will/s outright, at all costs? I do realise that this appeal might not be 'technical' as is the general case, but I would like to ask everyone to think about what Ive said please, its just simple sense, and I would request that the article be readded , with possible rewriting or extensive re editing? Thanks to all 39.54.178.133 (talk) 10:45, 30 December 2015 (UTC)SyedB2015

Hello IP user. I'm usually one of the first to suggest that an article can be saved if I believe that I can find the sources to support it. In this case, I was unable to locate sources so I didn't say anything. You have indicated above that there are print sources available that would support notability for Omer Tarin. I would suggest compiling a list of those and adding them to this section. There is no deadline -- an article can be restored at any time if material is uncovered that shows the article can be created in a way that meets Wikipedia's standards. While online references are easiest to verify, print references or other "offline" references are acceptable on Wikipedia. Social media and self-published sources are not acceptable for establishing notability. You can read the full standard by clicking here. Etamni | ✉   11:22, 30 December 2015 (UTC)
Please at least tell us which sources specifically support the notability claim for Omer Tarin. For example, is it your national newspaper? Or is it some specific journal article? Some of us have already tried to look up information online, which is usually the first step we take, but as you said (and which I agree with) some information can only be found in print sources for now. At least tell us what these sources are so that we can think about how we can go about this. Unfortunately, now that other editors are disputing the subject's notability, the onus is now on the article contributors (User:Hamneto and you) to show us the evidence/information - "The onus to achieve consensus for inclusion is on those seeking to include disputed content." (en:WP:ONUS). As I have mentioned in my original nomination, unauthenticated book reviews (such as on Amazon or Goodreads) by (claimed) subject experts are not acceptable as a reliable source. Chenzw  Talk  12:25, 30 December 2015 (UTC)
Dear editors/users, hello, I cannot speak for anyone else but as I have already stated on my Talk Page , I must claim the fault for not editing or adding proper sources & etc in this deleted article. It is not really an issue for me, I know that Syed B has also done some later work on it, but the problem remains that many of our reputed writers here, as well as other artists, scholars and so on, are indeed not always covered on Internet sources. However, I do know that in many cases, there are many good Pakistani newspapers (international standard) as well as some few literary journals and similar publications, also reputable/reliable, which have some reviews and articles about these writers. If you look at the list of Pakistani Writers (which I also initiated a long time ago I think) you will note that except for very few (those associated with the Pakistani literary diaspora in the UK , USA, generally) most of these articles are not referenced at all. What to do about these please? As, again, in most cases, there are few or no Internet sources covering them? If you want, I can compile a list of these writers share. I would value your advice. What I was thinking, was to possibly find out reputable reviews and such from our main newspapers and maybe a couple of academic journals , and cite them? How would that work? Look forward to your response(s). Regards Hamneto (talk) 06:56, 31 December 2015 (UTC)Hamneto
@Hamneto: Please take the issue of other pages somewhere else, possibly WP:Simple talk. This page is for discussing whether to reverse deletion of pages. Thanks. --Auntof6 (talk) 08:36, 31 December 2015 (UTC)
Helo to all. I m sorry I didnt see or check this page for 2 days, thanks to all for comments and guidance. I think its right, and I will try to add more new poets and writers from Pakistan also when I register. Problem is that I am only able to access my college oNet facilitis at this time very limited, so I am waiting until I can have my own Net at home here. Good wishes. 39.54.193.196 (talk) 06:23, 1 January 2016 (UTC)SyedB2015

Kennedy Brice[change source]

The following discussion is marked as answered. If you have a new comment, place it just below the box.

This article was deleted because it stated she is not a notable actress and there are no RS to establish her as such and she has only been in local productions that no one has heard of. (RS were provided featuring Kennedy from Variety, Deadline, Hollywood Reporter http://variety.com/t/kennedy-brice/ and over 40 reviews of her performance as the title character of "June" by credible news sources and being named Moviepilot's Horror Fan Favorite Child Actress of 2015 just last month) http://moviepilot.com/posts/3655206?lt_source=external,manual. As for projects no one has hear of... She is the lead in the horror film June (2015 Release Image/RLJ Entertainment with a worldwide release in three languages), she is Molly on The Walking Dead, was Finley Chota on Steven Spielberg's Red Band Society, she plays Dolly Parton's Bully Gloria Sanders in Coat of Many colors that EVERY MAJOR NEWS OUTLET is reporting 15.6 million viewers last Wednesday when it aired and will re-broadcast Dec. 25 2015. She will play real-life kidnapping victim Beth Stauffer (Mary Stauffer's Daughter) on Investigation Discovery's Your Worst Nightmare Jan 6 2016 and StudioCanal just obtained International Distribution rights to "Worry Dolls" (Kennedy is the lead of "Chloe") as reported last week in Deadline. (trade publication) June received an international theatrical run and there are international fan sites devoted to Kennedy. Filmbuff311 (talk) 04:03, 19 December 2015 (UTC) Filmbuff311 (talk) 04:33, 19 December 2015 (UTC)

I'd like to request that the deleted article be userfied to User:Etamni/Kennedy Brice so that I can see if there is anything that can be done with it. I'll be kinda busy the next few days, but should have time to really get into this starting on Thursday or so. Etamni | ✉   23:10, 20 December 2015 (UTC)
Done - see what you can do.--Peterdownunder (talk) 23:22, 20 December 2015 (UTC)

Thank you very much for looking into it. I appreciate your time and attention. 68.16.8.102 (talk) 02:40, 21 December 2015 (UTC) If you have any trouble finding RS, please let me know and I can provide you with the links and reviews as well. Thank you!Filmbuff311 (talk) 02:43, 21 December 2015 (UTC)

@Filmbuff311: I've added a new section to the bottom of your talk page. As noted above, I won't really have time to work on this until Thursday or so, but the information I've asked you for on your talk page will help get this rolling. Etamni | ✉   14:03, 21 December 2015 (UTC)

Indian actors wiki page in trouble[change source]

Wikipedia is property to all. Than why the pages of Indian celeb are been deleted. Even after providing many linksof profesional websites please restore Mahika Sharma — This unsigned comment was added by 18beauty (talk • changes) at 02:54, 23 January 2016‎.

I'm afraid you are on the wrong Wikipedia. This Wikipedia has never had that article. It was deleted on English Wikipedia. (This is Simple English Wikipedia, a separate site.) If you want to ask about this at English Wikipedia, please go to en:Wikipedia:Deletion review. --Auntof6 (talk) 03:06, 23 January 2016 (UTC)