Wikipedia:Editor review/RyanCross

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

RyanCross[change source]

RyanCross (talk · contribs) Hello, I am RyanCross. I'm new here at the Simple English Wikipedia. I've been very active since I made my account. I would just like to know how my editing has been and where I should improve in my areas of editing.

Yes, I would like to become a Simple Wikipedia administrator. It would be a good way to better help the community. Just to let you reviewers know, I have an account on en-wikipedia. But looking through the archives of WP:RfA, I don't feel I should nominate myself. It would be better for a trusted editor to nominate me. But if I feel that I am ready, I would nominate myself. Of course I would wait a few months of quality and constructive editing, meeting the Wikipedia:Criteria for Adminship. By the way, I'm not saying all this just so I know how to pass an RfA, I just would like to know what others thought of me becoming an admin in the future. I generally know all the policies also. Reading through all of them showed me that there similar to en-wikipedia, just not as strict.

Anyway, most of my information is located here. Any review would greatly be appreciated. Oh, and feel free to ask me more questions. I'll answer it thoroughly so I can get a good response on how I should edit. Thanks, RyanCross (talk) 04:01, 15 June 2008 (UTC)

Reviews

  • From your first day here (oh wait, a few hours ago), you have done nearly perfect. You have caught on quickly of the whole "Simple English" concept, and have been a good copyeditor. Of course you've only been editing a day or so, so aren't fully experienced. But you are fastly becoming an amazing contributer here. Given some time to learn more, and get experience and trust, I think that you will be part of the future of the Simple English Wikipedia. Cheers -- America alk 05:02, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • "New" is kind of an understatement. Your first edit was only 28 hours ago and you already have 331 edits... Cassandra (talk) 05:10, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Hehe, I'm guessing that was a compliment. Thanks, I think. Do you think you can be a bit more thorough? Thanks, RyanCross (talk) 05:21, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • The first time that I saw your name on the Recent Changes, I thought to myself, "Who the heck is this user? I've never seen him before?" As I started investigating the edits that you have made, though, I have come to realize that you are probably one of the most prolific editors ever to come onto this site. Even I didn't make 331 edits in my first day here and I sure don't think that it will be long until you break my 1,000 edit in 1 week record, too. Every single one of your edits so far have been of a benefit to this Wikipedia and you have done an excellent job so far. You have dabbled in every single category that is necessary to make this Wikipedia a better place: Mainspace, Template, and Category, not to mention User and User talk. You have created many good articles already and as American Eagle has stated above, you are by far one of the better copyeditors that I have seen in my tenure here on the Simple English Wikipedia. I nearly forgot to mention the fact that this user has also been a great help in keeping the Simple English Wikipedia vandal-free. Not many people can say that on their first days :P Keep it up! Cheers, Razorflame 05:58, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Thanks for the kind words Razorflame! I really do appreciate it. Everything of what you said, I will continuo doing. Best, RyanCross (talk) 07:26, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Not a problem. Just a quick note, but do you really think that answering a question from March of 2007 is a good idea? I highly doubt that the original poster will even be looking for a response to his or her question over 1 year later. Also, not everything requires a reply :) Cheers, Razorflame 07:35, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Oh, thanks for the tip. I wasn't really looking at the timestamp. I won't do that if it's been posted there for a long time. -- RyanCross (talk) 08:54, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Excellent edits so far, just try to break the En Wiki habits like External Links to Other Websites. I'm especially impressed with your Barnstar collection! It took me months to get my first one. --Gwib -(talk)- 15:41, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Hehe, well, that's because I already have experience in editing and someone noticed. You should see my barnstar collection on en-wikipedia. I have 59 barnstars there. And yeah, when I first came here I was confused weather you use "Other websites" other than "External links". Thanks Gwib! -- RyanCross (talk) 19:44, 15 June 2008 (UTC)
  • I haven't got to know you that well but from what I be seeing here and there you doing good...don't steer from that path.--   ChristianMan16  03:59, 16 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Thanks. I'll try to stay on the right track. ;) Best, RyanCross (talk) 04:50, 16 June 2008 (UTC)
  • 932 edits in 4 days! (about 233 edits/day) Very good copy-editing work you have done, though you might want to consider making more major edits. P.S. What is your enWP username? Chenzw  Talk  02:36, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
I asked him that also. -- America alk 02:38, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
Is there really a need to know? I don't think it matters much to know other user's user names on another wikipedia. Is there? Anyway, thanks Chenzw, I'll try to make more major edits. -- RyanCross (talk) 03:12, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
Alright. For now, I'll trust what you say, and sorry to be nosy. Just don't expect to become an admin with it hidden. But I trust you, and I am not worried about it at all. Cheers -- America alk 03:28, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
And why is that? I should hope that Da Punk '95 or ChristainMan16 are not blacklisted from becoming admins here solely beacuse of their actions over on the English Wikipedia. A rather hasty check of Special:Listuers shows that no active admin here (Creol, Chenzw, Cometstyles, Lights, Archer7) is an admin on the English Wikipedia; their successful candidacies stemmed solely from what they did on Simple, not on English. Cassandra 03:47, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
Oh, I didn't mean it like that. I just meant that, this is strange for we talked about this on IRC, I didn't think that you should say that you are hiding things (and Ryan knows more about what I mean), and expect to be trusted by many. But I trust him well already. I didn't mean to say he couldn't without giving up his identity there. Thanks -- America alk 03:53, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
Well, let's not get into a big fuss about this. American Eagle, if you really want to know that badly, than I will be happy to email it to you. So if you want to know, just ask me. I just don't want to reveal my identity yet to the community, and trust me, I'm not blacklisted. :D There's nothing wrong with that. Thanks, RyanCross (talk) 03:57, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
No, that is fine. As to show that I trust you, I'm asking just to forget it, I don't want (or need) to know. Cheers -- America alk 03:59, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
Yes, it is. Chenzw  Talk  10:44, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
  • It seems odd you want to be an admin from the outset. Why is that? Remember adminship is not a goal or trophy. Majorly talk 11:09, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Indeed, it's not. It's absolutely "no big deal" either. The reason why I would like to become an admin is so that I can better help the community. It would be odd if an entirely new user creates an account and then wants to be an admin. Entirely new users have no idea what admins actually do. I ,on the otherhand, am very familiar with the tools already. I've learned what admins can do, when it would be appropriate to use the tools, and when not to use them. I'm not necessarily a "entirely new user". I've been doing most of my editing at en-Wikipedia and have learned quite a lot about admins there. I've gone through and read many of the polices here, and I think I've got them all down. I'm not eager to become an admin, I would just like to better help the community, and of course, the encyclopedia. -- Ryan†Cross (talk) 11:18, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
  • I think in the short time you've ben here you've done an excellent job here. I don't think there's too much for the community to worry about should you go for RFA in a couple of months - your edits so far show you have nothing but the best interests in the project in mind. And adminship is no big deal. However, I would advocate that you start article building rather than just article tweaking. Getting to grips with creating good articles from scratch is the best way to understand the whole process here and would stand you in good stead if you went for RFA. The Rambling Man (talk) 16:49, 23 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Thanks Rambling Man. It's true, I do a lot of article tweaking. I do create articles and expand articles at times. A list can be found here. I'm trying to get baseball uniform to WP:GA status, but it still needs a lot of work, mostly referencing to do. Well, I'll try my best in GA areas. -- RyanCross (talk) 16:57, 23 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Well, you've done quite excellently at your editing. I really don't have much to say, except that you need to get in some more conflicts and such, if you know what I mean. Sorry I can't give a better review, I'm not a very good judge of character. - A Link to the Past (talk) 03:35, 28 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Oh, no worries. I know what you mean by "getting into a conflict". There aren't many big conflicts here anyway, so it might be pretty hard. But if I do get into a conflict, I will always remember to keep a cool head, stay civil, and be bold. Thanks, RyanCross (talk) 03:39, 28 June 2008 (UTC)
  • I cannot see any problems with you. --  Da Punk '95  talk  22:23, 28 June 2008 (UTC)
Oh, thanks. ;) -- RyanCross (talk) 22:25, 28 June 2008 (UTC)
  • Great job. I have been impresed with a lot of users and you are one of them. Good job and keep up the good work.also see you on some other wikis.The Page Changer 01:52, 7 July 2008 (UTC)
  • Thanks, that's nice to hear. :) -- RyanCross (talk) 03:02, 7 July 2008 (UTC)
  • You are a surefire future admin if you don't create a sockfarm or become a page-move vandal. Sebb Talk 12:48, 26 July 2008 (UTC)

Comments

RyanCross (talk · contribs · count)

Questions

  1. Of your contributions to Wikipedia, are there any about which you are particularly pleased, and why?
    My best contributions would be creating pages such as templates, categories, and of course articles. I list of what I have created is located at here. I do watch recent changes for any vandalism. I use popups to revert which is what I use on en-wikipedia. I'm generally accurate in reverting vandalism and giving the appropriate warnings. While RC patrolling, I sometimes notice articles that are nonsense, test, vandalism, no content or little content, etc being created. I of course tag them with the appropriate tags. Oh, and I would participate in WP:RFD more but there's only one debate open right now. But when there is a new debate, you can expect me commenting and voting on it. Well, now to general article writing. I do a great deal of copyediting and wikifying article, improving them further. I create mostly baseball articles. I recently created WikiProject Baseball so it can help just for that topic. My best articles I have created thus far would be Derek Jeter, baseball glove, and baseball uniform. The rest of my articles are mostly stubs. I've also created a good list called List of Major League Baseball teams by payroll.
  2. Have you been in any conflicts over editing in the past or do you feel other users have caused you stress? How have you dealt with it and how will you deal with it in the future?
    Being here for a short time, no, none at all. I never get frustrated as what others tell me. I'm generally a nice person. I've actually been thanks for my contributions a few times in my time here at Simple Wikipedia. But if I did get into a conflict, I would really just try to stay cool and try to solve the problem. As for stress, I would just take a small break, a few minutes or hours just to think. I would than come back and try to solve the rest of the problem. I can't really answer the second question since I haven't been in any conflicts.