Wikipedia:Right to vanish
|This page in a nutshell: All Wikipedia editors not in trouble have the right to leave and disappear. This is not a right to a "fresh start" under a new name.|
All Wikipedia editors have the right to leave. The usual way to leave the Wikipedia project is simply to stop editing.
If you wish to leave permanently, and to remove any association with your past edits, you may exercise your right to vanish. It is not a requirement, but the Wikipedia community will typically allow the ability to vanish to users in good standing who exercise their right to leave and ask to "vanish" permanently.
How to leave[change source]
To leave more fully, you may wish to blank your userpage, talkpage, and any subpages in your userspace. To have them deleted entirely, ask an admin to delete the page for you. Note that this will work on all of the pages in your userspace, except for your user talk pages – these are generally not deleted
Vanishing from Wikipedia[change source]
Vanishing does not mean you will stop being associated with the edits made from your old account.
Vanishing typically involves:
- Having a steward change the username of the account. Vanishing in this way is not a right. It is a courtesy.