Grand Theft Auto V

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Grand Theft Auto V
Developer(s) Rockstar North
Publisher(s) Rockstar Games
Platform(s) PlayStation 3
Xbox 360
Release date(s) September 17, 2013[1]
Genre(s) Action-adventure
Mode(s) Single player
online multiplayer
Rating(s) ESRB: M[2]
Media Blu-ray Disc
2x DVD-DL
Digital download

Grand Theft Auto V is a action-adventure video game that was developed by Rockstar North and published by Rockstar Games. It is the fifteenth game in Grand Theft Auto video game series. It was also the first main game since 2008 when Grand Theft Auto IV was released.

The game was released worldwide on September 17, 2013.[1] It was released on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. The game broke industry sales records when it earned US$800 million in the first 24 hours of its release as well as US$1 billion within its first three days which made it the fastest selling entertainment product in history.[3][4] It also broke 7 records by Guinness World Records.[5]

The game won Most Anticipated Game at the 2012 Spike Video Game Awards,[6] Game of the Year at the 2013 Golden Joystick Awards,[7] Platinum Award and User Choice Award at the 2013 PlayStation Awards,[8] Game of the Year and Most Immersive at the 5th Annual Inside Gaming Awards,[9] and Game of the Year and Best Soundtrack at the 2013 VGX.[10]

References[change | change source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 "Grand Theft Auto V: Release Data". GameFAQS. http://www.gamefaqs.com/ps3/634490-grand-theft-auto-v/data. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  2. "ESRB: Grand Theft Auto V". ESRB. http://www.esrb.org/ratings/synopsis.jsp?Certificate=33073. Retrieved 2013-12-5.
  3. "GTA 5 Makes $800 Million in One Day". IGN. http://ca.ign.com/articles/2013/09/18/gta-5-makes-800-million-in-one-day. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  4. "GTA 5 Sales Hit $1 Billion in Three Days". IGN. http://ca.ign.com/articles/2013/09/20/gta-5-sales-hit-1-billion-in-three-days. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  5. "'Grand Theft Auto V' Has Broken 7 Guinness World Records". Business Insider. http://www.businessinsider.com/gta-v-guinness-world-records-2013-10. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  6. "Every VGA Winner From Years Past". Spike. http://www.spike.com/articles/6aoa62/vgx-every-vga-winner-from-years-past. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  7. "Golden Joysticks 2013: Full list of winners". Computer and Video Games. http://www.computerandvideogames.com/435281/golden-joysticks-2013-full-list-of-winners/. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  8. "Grand Theft Auto 5 goes platinum at Sony PlayStation Awards". Polygon. http://www.polygon.com/2013/12/4/5174096/grand-theft-auto-5-goes-platinum-at-sony-playstation-awards. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  9. "Winners of the 5th Annual Inside Gaming Awards Announced". Machinima. http://www.insidegamingdaily.com/2013/12/04/winners-of-the-5th-annual-inside-gaming-awards-announced/. Retrieved 2013-12-9.
  10. "‘Grand Theft Auto V’ Tops Spike VGX 2013 Award Winners List". Gamerant. http://gamerant.com/vgx-2013-winners-list/. Retrieved 2013-12-9.

Other websites[change | change source]