Ovo-lacto vegetarianism

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Ovo-lacto vegetarianism (alternate: lacto-ovo) is a diet in which people do not eat the flesh of animals. They do, though, eat eggs and dairy. Ovo-lacto vegetarians are the most prevalent types in the Western world.[1] Such people are well served in restaurants, especially in certain parts of Europe and in North America.

Ovo-lacto vegetarians use this diet sometimes for religious reasons. Others use it for health.

References[change | edit source]

  1. "Vegetarians' types". About.com. http://vegetarian.about.com/od/vegetarianvegan101/tp/TypesofVeg.htm. Retrieved January 6, 2014.