Timeline of the 2006 Atlantic hurricane season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Below is a timeline of the 2006 Atlantic hurricane season, listing all the storm formations, strengthening, weakening, landfalls, extratropical transitions, as well as dissipation. The 2006 Atlantic hurricane season was a season in which an El Niño event stopped much tropical cyclone activity, especially later in the season. The season officially began on June 1 2006, and lasted until November 30. For convenience and clarity, in the timeline below, all landfalls are bolded. The timeline also includes information which was not operationally released, meaning that information from post-storm reviews by the National Hurricane Center, such as information on a storm that was not operationally warned on, have been included.

The graphical bar above gives a brief overview of storm activity during the season, and for convenience, the storm's maximum intensity is included as a color bar. Tropical Storm Zeta from 2005 persisted into 2006, therefore a January section has been included in the text timeline.

Timeline of storms[change | change source]

January[change | change source]

January 1
January 6
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Storm Zeta weakens into a tropical depression.
  • 5 p.m. AST (2100 UTC) - The National Hurricane Center issues its last advisory on dissipating Tropical Depression Zeta, finally ending the 2005 season.

June[change | change source]

June 1
June 10
June 13
June 14
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) - Tropical Storm Alberto weakens into a tropical depression.[1]
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - The remnants of Alberto become extratropical.[1]
  • 5 p.m. EDT (2100 UTC) - The HPC issues its first and only advisory on the remnants of Tropical Depression Alberto.

July[change | change source]

July 17
July 18
July 21
July 31

August[change | change source]

August 1
August 3
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Tropical Storm Chris weakens to a tropical depression.[4]
August 4
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Depression Chris weakens into a low.[4]
August 21
August 22
August 24
August 25
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Five strengthens into Tropical Storm Ernesto.[6]
August 26
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Storm Debby weakens to a tropical depression.[5]
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Debby weakens into a low.[5]
August 27
  • 2 a.m EDT (0600 UTC) - Tropical Storm Ernesto strengthens into Hurricane Ernesto.[6]
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - Hurricane Ernesto weakens to a tropical storm.[6]
August 28
  • 7:15 a.m. EDT (1115 UTC) - Tropical Storm Ernesto makes a first landfall in Cuba at Playa Cazonal with 40 mph winds.[6]
August 29
  • 11 p.m. EDT (0300 UTC) - Tropical Storm Ernesto makes a second landfall at Plantation Key, Florida, with 45 mph winds.[6]
August 30
  • 1 a.m. EDT (0500 UTC) - Tropical Storm Ernesto makes a third landfall in southwestern Miami-Dade County with 45 mph winds.[6]
August 31

September[change | change source]

September 1
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - Tropical Storm Ernesto weakens to a tropical depression.[6]
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) - Tropical Depression Ernesto becomes extratropical with gale-force winds.[6]
September 2
  • 11 p.m. EDT (0300 UTC September 3) - The HPC releases its final advisory on the extratropical remnants of Ernesto.
September 3
September 5
  • 2 a.m. AST (0600 UTC) - Tropical Depression Six strengthens into Tropical Storm Florence.[7]
September 10
September 11
  • 8 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) - Tropical Depression Seven strengthens into Tropical Storm Gordon.[8]
September 12
September 13
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) - Hurricane Gordon reaches Category 2 intensity.[8]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 14) - Hurricane Gordon reaches Category 3 intensity, becoming the first major hurricane of the season.[8]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 14) - Tropical Depression Eight strengthens into Tropical Storm Helene.[9]
September 16
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Storm Helene strengthens into Hurricane Helene.[9]
September 17
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Hurricane Helene reaches Category 2 intensity.[9]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC September 18) - Hurricane Helene reaches to Category 3 intensity, becoming the second major hurricane of the season.[9]
September 19
  • 11 p.m. AST (0300 UTC September 20) - Hurricane Gordon passes near the Central Azores with the eye staying offshore.[10]
September 20
September 24
  • 2 p.m. AST (1800 UTC) - Hurricane Helene becomes extratropical.[9]
September 27
  • 2 p.m. EDT (1800 UTC) - Tropical Depression Nine forms 810 nautical miles (940 miles, 1500 km) east-southeast of Bermuda.[11]
September 28
  • 2 a.m. EDT (0600 UTC) - Tropical Depression Nine strengthens into Tropical Storm Isaac.[11]
September 30
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Tropical Storm Isaac strengthens into Hurricane Isaac.[11]

October[change | change source]

October 2
  • 8 a.m. AST (1200 UTC) - Hurricane Isaac weakens to a tropical storm.[11]
  • 8 p.m. AST (0000 UTC October 3) - Tropical Storm Isaac becomes extratropical.[11]

November[change | change source]

  • There was no tropical cyclone activity in the Atlantic basin in November.
November 30

Other pages[change | change source]

References[change | change source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Avila, Lixion A. and Brown, Daniel P./National Hurricane Center (2006-08-11). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Alberto". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL012006_Alberto.pdf. Retrieved 2006-10-05.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Blake, Eric S. and Beven, John L./National Hurricane Center (2006-12-15). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Unnamed Tropical Storm". NOAA. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL502006_Unnamed.pdf. Retrieved 2006-12-18.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Pasch, Richard J./National Hurricane Center (2006-08-31). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Beryl". NOAA. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL022006_Beryl.pdf. Retrieved 2006-10-05.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Stewart, Stacy R./National Hurricane Center (2006-11-29). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Chris". NOAA. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL032006_Chris.pdf. Retrieved 2006-12-13.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Franklin, James L./National Hurricane Center (2006-11-02). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Tropical Storm Debby". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL042006_Debby.pdf. Retrieved 2006-11-22.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 6.7 6.8 6.9 Knabb, Richard D. and Mainelli, Michelle/National Hurricane Center (2006-12-15). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Ernesto". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL052006_Ernesto.pdf. Retrieved 2006-12-26.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 Beven, Jack/National Hurricane Center (2006-12-21). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Florence". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL062006_Florence.pdf. Retrieved 2007-01-05.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 Blake, Eric S./National Hurricane Center (2006-11-14). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Gordon". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL072006_Gordon.pdf. Retrieved 2006-11-22.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 Brown, Daniel P./National Hurricane Center (2006-11-15). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Helene". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL082006_Helene.pdf. Retrieved 2006-11-22.
  10. Pasch, Richard J./National Hurricane Center (2006-09-19). "Hurricane Gordon Public Advisory Number 37". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/archive/2006/al07/al072006.public.037.shtml. Retrieved 2006-11-22.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 Mainelli, Michelle/National Hurricane Center (2006-11-16). "Tropical Cyclone Report: Hurricane Isaac". National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/pdf/TCR-AL092006_Isaac.pdf. Retrieved 2006-11-22.

Other websites[change | change source]