Veganism is a lifestyle. Vegans choose not to eat food that comes from animals, including meat, eggs and dairy products (like milk, cheese, and yogurt). A vegan diet is sometimes called a strict vegetarian diet. Some vegans also do not eat honey. Vegans try not to use any other animal products, such as leather, wool, feathers, bone, or pearl. They also try to avoid products that have been tested on animals. Vegans believe in animal rights, and may campaign for it.
Vegans do eat all kinds of fruits, vegetables, beans, grains, nuts, and seeds, and things made from them like vegan sweets, vegan cheese and vegan cakes.
Some people become vegan because they disagree with the treatment of animals in the modern animal farm industry. Other reasons to become vegan are for health, religious reasons, to protect the environment, or because of world hunger. Animals eat a lot and take up a lot of resources. By not producing meat, milk, or eggs, a lot of food, land and water can be saved. For instance, it takes about 16 pounds of grain to make 1 pound of grain-fed meat, so eating plants directly takes fewer resources.
- Vegan Outreach. "Vegan Outreach FAQ - What about honey and silk?". http://www.veganoutreach.org/guide/qa.html#whatabouthoneyandsilk. Retrieved 2012-09-14.
Other pages [change]
Other websites [change]