Discovery Family

From Simple English Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Discovery Family
SloganWhere Everything Comes Together
HeadquartersSilver Spring, Maryland
Ownership
OwnerDiscovery Communications (60%)
Hasbro, Inc.
(40%)
Links
Websitehttp://www.discoveryfamilychannel.com/

Discovery Family (formerly Discovery Kids, The Hub, and the Hub Network) is a Digital cable and satellite television television network in the United States. Discovery Family replaced the Hub Network, the Hub, and Discovery Kids and has a joint venture of both Discovery Communications, Inc. and Hasbro.[1] The headquarters for the television channel is in Silver Spring, Maryland. The Hub (later became the Hub Network) launched at 10:00 am ET (9:00 am CT) on October 16, 2010 and took over the Discovery Kids channel space after a final marathon of Kenny the Shark. The very first program aired on The Hub was The Twisted Whiskers Show. The channel is 40% owned by Hasbro and 60% owned by Discovery Communications, Inc.[2]

Program blocks[change | change source]

There are 4 blocks for the channel:

HubBub[change | change source]

HubBub is a daytime programming block for preschoolers. HubBub usually airs from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm ET (8:00 am–12:00 pm CT). Shows like Animal Mechanicals, Maryoku Yummy, In the Night Garden, Strawberry Shortcake's Berry Bitty Adventures and The WotWots are aired during HubBub.

Family Prime Time[change | change source]

Family Prime Time is a nighttime lineup and is broadcast on Monday to Thursdays from 7:00 pm to 6:00 am ET (6:00 pm to 5:00 am CT), Fridays from 2:00 to 4:00 am ET (1:00 to 3:00 am CT), Saturdays from 1:00 to 4:00 am ET (12:00 to 3:00 am CT) and Sundays from 12:00 to 4:00 am ET (11:00 pm to 3:00 am CT). Shows like Honey, I Shrunk the Kids: The TV Show, Doogie Howser, M.D., Laverne & Shirley, The Wonder Years and Happy Days are aired during Family Prime Time.

HubBoom[change | change source]

HubBoom which is a late night block of action-themed programming and is broadcast Monday through Thursdays from 11:30 pm to 1:00 am ET (10:30 pm to 12:00 am CT). Shows like Batman, The Transformers and G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero are aired during HubBoom.

Saturday Mash Up[change | change source]

Saturday Mash Up is an almost all-day block. Saturday Mash Up has several sub-blocks (Crack Up, Smash Up, Team Up, Family Prime, and Family Movie Night).

  • Crack Up is a sub-block that airs comedy cartoons and airs from 6:00 am Eastern/5:00 am Central to 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central.
  • Smash Up is a sub-block that airs action shows and airs from 10:00 am Eastern/9:00 am Central to 2:00 pm Eastern/1:00 pm Central.
  • Team Up is a sub-block that airs two back-to-back episodes of Family Game Night and airs from 3:00 pm Eastern/2:00 pm Central to 5:00 pm Eastern/4:00 pm Central.
  • Family Prime is a sub-block that airs The Hub's best shows and airs from 7:00 pm Eastern/6:00 pm Central to 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central.
  • Family Movie Night is a sub-block that airs family movies and it airs from 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central to 11:00 pm Eastern/10:00 pm Central.

References[change | change source]

Other websites[change | change source]